---
title: Move Players to a New Network
slug: hardware/move-players-to-a-new-network
docTags: 
createdAt: 2025-03-11T06:58:11.201Z
---

To move a player from one BSN.Cloud network to another, you must have one or more BSN.Cloud accounts and at least two networks. On this page, the network where the player currently resides will be referred to as the “old” network and the network where the player will be moved to will be referred to as the “new” network. These networks do not need to be in the same account.

:::hint{type="warning"}
Players cannot be migrated from one BSN.Cloud network to another unless the player provisioning record is first deleted from the old network and created in the new network (see [Provision](docId\:Cyl9kPm02CO5rgcB9WQQv) for more information). Otherwise, your player will remain in the old network.
:::

To move the player to the new network, follow the steps below.

:::hint{type="info"}
These steps maintain the player’s network settings, enabling the player to be accessible over the network during the entire process. The player’s current OS version is also maintained.
:::

:::::WorkflowBlock
:::WorkflowBlockItem
Make sure you are in the *old* network using the network drop-down menu. Confirm that the player-to-be-moved is on this network by checking that the player appears under the **Network** tab. Do NOT delete the player from the **Network** tab (you will need to access the player’s RDWS via this tab later in the process).
:::

::::WorkflowBlockItem
Go to **Admin > Provision** and delete the player from the Provision table by clicking the delete (trash can) icon.

:::hint{type="info"}
Note that at this point, the player will continue to be displayed in the Network tab of the old network. Even though the player’s provisioning record has been deleted, BSN.Cloud will continue to show the player as belonging to the old network until the player has been reprovisioned to a new network.
:::
::::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Switch to the *new* network.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Go to **Admin > Provision**.

- Click **Add Player** to add the player by its serial number.
- If you already have a Setup File you wish to apply to this player, select the player, click **Apply Setup**, and select the desired Setup File to apply to this player.
- If you have not created the desired Setup File:
  - Go to **Admin > Setup** and create the Setup File.
  - Use the **Add Setup to Library** button to add it to the Setup Library.
  - Once the Setup File has been created, go to **Admin > Provision** and select the player.
  - Click **Apply Setup** to apply the newly created Setup File to the player.

Although a new provisioning record has been created for the player on the new network, the player must still be explicitly “reprovisioned” for everything to take effect.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Switch to the *old* network again.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Go to the **Network** tab and find the player. Click the gear icon to access the player's RDWS.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Navigate to the **Control** tab of the player’s RDWS and click the **Reprovision > Update** button which will cause the player to reboot.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Switch to the *new* network. The player should soon be displayed in both the **Network** tab and **Provision** screen of the new network.
:::

:::WorkflowBlockItem
Switch back to the *old* network and go to the **Network** tab. The player will likely still be displayed on the list but with an Inactive status so as a final cleanup/housecleaning step, delete the player by clicking the delete (trash can) icon.
:::
:::::

